Buy the Swiss Wool Tunic on http://www.armynavydeals.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Swiss Wool Tunic image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Located in: SURPLUS - Genuine Issue, JK - Jackets & Coats
This jacket is a great Melton wool blazer in an awesome color. The Swiss army as part of the battledress uniform wore it. We offer the pants to match. The jacket is a bluish gray and may come with a satin liner. There are welt pockets in the satin lining, which are only in high end clothing these days. It is a great jacket for women and men. There are 4 frontal pockets and it is single breasted. There are epaulets at the shoulders and the buttons have the Swiss cross on them. It is a beautiful jacket.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Sizing:
Feels true to size(9)
Fit:
Feels true to size(7)
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length(13)
Chest Size:
Feels true to size(7)
Pros:
Attractive(8), Comfortable(5), Durable(5), Great color(6), Lightweight(3)
Best Uses:
Cold / extreme(7), Daily use(7), Everyday wear(6), Going out(5), Travel(4)
Describe Yourself:
Casual dresser(6), Outdoor enthusiast(4)
 
Spiffy jacket
By DevinVerified Reviewer from Illinois on 2/7/2011
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Plenty Of Pockets, Rugged, Warm
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

Very nice coat on first impression. My jacket included the satin lining and a few adornments on the chest and collar. There are a couple of metal half loops near the waist as mentioned by another reviewer that feel a bit awkward on their own, but they could be made useful. The musty smell is a bit overpowering, but nothing a trip to the cleaners couldn't fix. I was a bit worried at first because I have incredibly long arms for my body size, so almost nothing fits me. For me, the sleeve length was perfect, so people with shorter arms may find the sleeves long. It also feels fitted around the midsection and waist.

As to the color, it does indeed appear more blue-green in person, albeit it's subtle. I think the best way to describe it would be a darker slate green. Also, being wool, the jacket can be a bit irritating against bare skin, especially around the neck, so dress accordingly.

For the price, this can't be beat.

 
fab fit!
By jobeeVerified Reviewer from Marlyand/NYC on 1/5/2011
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Lightweight, Rugged, Versatile, Warm
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
Describe Yourself:
Trendy
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

This coat is freakin awesome. I got got a 38 and it fit like i had it made for me! the quality is soo nice it was not missing a thing. mint condition! love it love it love it! and you can not beat the price

 
Smashing jacket.
By HugoVerified Reviewer from Long Island, NY on 9/3/2010
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Dashing appearance, Rugged, Warm
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
Describe Yourself:
Outdoor Enthusiast, Sharp dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

This jacket is awesome. The colour is indeed a very nice blue-grey, and mine is lined. There are neat insignia on the lapels and the sides of the shoulders, and two small metal pins (they look like unit insignia of some kind) above the left breast pocket. Inside is a pocket-like compartment , which unbuttons to allow you to get at the back of the pins, and prevents the metal on them from touching your shirt. The pockets are pretty roomy, and the flaps keep them secure, even without buttons on them. As other reviewers mentioned, there are two metal half-loops on the sides, presumably to hold up a gear-laden belt; these two supports are attached very sturdily.
The jacket was rather musty-smelling and had some wrinkles on the sleeves, but that's surplus for you. I'm sure I could steam out the wrinkles by hanging it up by the shower, and spritz it with fabric freshener as someone else did, but I'll go the easy-but-non-free way of taking it to the dry cleaners.
The sleeves are of the perfect 'suit' length, where they'd show a bit of shirt cuff without being too short (and I'm 6'1"). The overall length to the bottom of the jacket is not too short by any means, but it's towards the shorter end of where you'd want a suit to fit.
The fit is close, but not constricting (you can swing your arms all around easily, if you're feeling frantic), so it works out to be quite flattering. It's got a single vent on the back (you know, a vertical opening towards the bottom) so it doesn't get all pushed-up when you sit.
Overall, it's built very well, with tough stitching and thick (for a blazer/jacket) wool.
One trivial little bonus I found: you know how if you turn up the collar on a suit jacket, the underside is often rough or otherwise weird-looking, because you're never expected to see it? The underside of this jacket's collar looks quite nice, so you could turn up the collar and lapels against the wind and it would look like it was supposed to be that way.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good but a little missing.
By Emperor DanoVerified Reviewer from South Carolina on 4/12/2010
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels too short
Pros:
Breathable, Lightweight, Plenty Of Pockets
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
Describe Yourself:
Hunter, Outdoor Enthusiast, Soldier
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

I like it! Feels good and fits well. My only complaint is that its missing some buttons (two to be exact).

 
Great casual "blazer" type jacket
By diprivanVerified Reviewer from hyde park, NY on 2/25/2010
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Plenty Of Pockets, Rugged, Versatile, Warm
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
Describe Yourself:
Outdoor Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

[...] Color is a blue/grey and I like it. Ordered 36, maybe could of used a 38 as I'm getting fat, but nonethe less who closes a "blazer". Mine did come with epithets on the collar whicj is fine. A bit erinkled and slight musty smell from packedged with the othe jacket. Some frebreeze fresh air and then hung in my bathroom with some steam and wrinkles gone and fresh smelling

 
Handsome jacket
By Noel-AnthonyVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles, CA on 1/30/2010
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels too long
Pros:
Warm
Best Uses:
Cold Weather
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

The fit is snug, but not uncomfortable. The color is actually a bit darker than it appears in the photo, but it is still a great jacket and a great deal.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Very Nice Wool Jacket
By JPVerified Reviewer from Vacaville, CA on 1/8/2010
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Plenty Of Pockets, Rugged, Versatile, Warm
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Outdoor Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

This is a great jacket. the wool and stitching is high-quality, the colour is great (an army green, with hints of gray fibers), the build is very thick, it is comfortable, and the liner is nice and soft! I couldn't ask for more in a light wool jacket. but unfortunately, Outfitters kind of screwed up my order: I ordered a chest size 36 (the smallest size available- still about 3 sizes bigger than my chest), and instead I was sent a size 40. I tried it on, but, unfortunately, it didn't work. aside from that, the sleeves are a good length, and so is the length of the jacket.

also, there are these interesting-looking half-loops on either side. I suspect they are for belts that clip on to the waist (for ammo pouchs, flashlight, pistol, grenades, canteen), to keep said belt from falling during combat. could be useful, if you ever have need to hook something on to there.

anyway, I sent the jacket back and am waiting for it to reach New York, and then for the exchange to be shipped. hopefully, I'll receive a size 36 this time!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
So nice
By NatalieVerified Purchaser from Maine on 9/29/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels too long
Pros:
Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Great Color, Versatile
Best Uses:
Daily Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

This jacket is a fantastic deal and I really love it. Being female, I have a few qualms about fit, however. I have broad shoulders, so those fit fine, but the sleeves are too large and long for me. This is probably easily fixed if I took the time. Mine came with a nice satin lining, and the color is awesome. Mine is an emeraldy grey color, which is difficult to describe, but awesome. I don't find it all that warm, but I haven't used it in cold weather yet, so I can't exactly vouch for that. It's a really attractive military style jacket that I had been looking for for awhile, and I am very satisfied.

 
I like this item a lot
By JonVerified Purchaser from TX on 7/1/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Attractive Design, Great Color, Versatile
Best Uses:
Going Out, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

The color is very hard to describe; it's not as grey as it looks in the photo, but neither is it as green as like an army green. Quite honestly, it's green-blue-grey...I can't describe it any better.

Anyway, the lining is nice, and it's wool, so wear it with a turtleneck like the guy in the photo, or the collar may irritate your neck. Sizing is on target.

Mine was in great shape, except the strange metal "belt loops" or whatever they are that protrude from the waist have had their gold finish chipped away. This detracts very little from the overall appearance of the jacket. I highly recommend it as an unusual and stylish, but very wearable item.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
[...]
By ADINSXVerified Purchaser from Eugene, Oregon on 6/18/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Attractive Design, Comfortable, Great Color
Best Uses:
Daily Use, Going Out
Describe Yourself:
Casual Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

Very nice coat. Probably needs to be sent to the cleaners since it smells like storage. The other reviews are correct though, its very narrow at the waist, so if you're a bit large you might want to get a bigger size.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great jacket, true to picture
By sasquachVerified Reviewer from New York, New York on 6/2/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Attractive Design, Comfortable, Great Color, Versatile, Warm
Best Uses:
Daily Use, Going Out, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Trendy/Stylish Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

awesome jacket, has a small amount of evil empire appeal (just enough to be cool), and is warm especialy with layers, but not too much itself. good for spring/fall and warmer winter days.

 
Perfectly as described and as in the pic
By arson51Verified Purchaser from West America on 2/12/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Great Color, Warm
Cons:
Not Packable
Best Uses:
Daily Use, Going Out, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Classic Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

I ordered 38R and it fits just as described. Color and look are great. Wool is in good condition no holes or wear. Buttons are plastic coated metal so they are not chipped or anything. There is one small pocket on the inside and two clips for a waist load bearing belt or military pistol belt on the middle of the waist.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
very nice warm-weather blazer
By dVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 1/30/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Great Color, Warm
Best Uses:
Daily Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

Awesome wool blazer-style coat. Very warm and thick and the construction is extremely solid. The color is especially cool -- a smoky charcoal blue that'll distinguish you from all the plain blacks and greys out there. Mine doesn't have satin lining, unfortunately, but the welt pockets are still a nice touch.

Cut very slim, so beware -- order a size bigger than usual unless you're super skinny!

 
wool tunic
By DoraVerified Purchaser from vacaville, ca on 1/13/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Durable, Warm
Describe Yourself:
Casual Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

fun jacket to wear with jeans

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A bit shabby & Different colour.
By BlueswannabeVerified Purchaser from Ireland, Europe. on 12/8/2008
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Attractive Design, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Quality
Best Uses:
Daily Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

Well first of all the Tunic is GREEN, like classic army man colour green, which isn't a bad thing, just thought others should be aware of it. [...]

 
Swiss Wool Tunic
By Todaka von KlinkmyerVerified Reviewer from Likely way even much more over 250 yards on 9/21/2008
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Versatile, Warm
Best Uses:
Bad Weather, Daily Use, Going Out, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Classic Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Wool Tunic:

I got this piece due to its style, and practibility in cold climates.
Very stylish goes well with my outfits.
If I wear it practically no need for my belt with various add-on pouches.
The four pockets are big enough to put everyday items inside of them. Atleast on average three pieces of electronics, wallets, First-Aid kits, and personal effects of course small enough to fit in each pocket for my use.
It will indeed keep you warm.
Best not suited to be worn in warm climate, you may sweat like crazy.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 ArmyNavyDeals.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.